top of page

Creating the Greatest 3v3 NBA Team

Introducing a brand new series: Roster Creation Games. I do realize that that is a terrible name so I am totally open to suggestions. You can hit me up on Instagram or leave a comment here on what the series name should be.


The Game:

"You’re the GM of a team for a 3v3 tournament and you can pick one of each for your team:

1. A current All-Star

2. A retired Hall of Famer

3. A current role player"


1.) The retired Hall of Famer is easy: give me the GOAT Michael Jordan. In his prime, of course. The highest point per game scorer in NBA history, one of the clutchest players we've ever seen, and he's also clamping up guys on the other side of the floor.


2.) The current All-Star is not quite as easy, but no matter what I'll end up with an all-time great. I could go with Nikola Jokic, who would space for Jordan and playmake. I could go with Joel Embiid, who could absolutely lock down the paint and be a terrifying lob threat while Jordan cooks. I could go with LeBron James and just pair the two greatest players of all time together, even though this wouldn't be a prime LeBron.


But I'm going to go with Giannis Antetokounmpo, the two time MVP, one time DPOY and FMVP. Giannis and Jordan would be an unstoppable duo. Giannis can't space to the perimeter like Jokic or Embiid, but he can give Jordan space by staying on the block and being a lob threat. Or Giannis would take the ball out to the perimeter or post to isolate and Jordan could space and create havoc off the ball.


In a pick-and-roll, Jordan and Giannis could get mismatches very easily and could even take turns being the ball handler. Defensively, it's a pain trying to get past Jordan, but even if you did, there is a 7-foot Greek Freak waiting to demolish you.


3.) Lastly, a current role player. Personally, I would define a role player as anyone that doesn't have a real chance at making an all-star game. For instance, Marcus Smart. He's a really good player but I would be shocked in he makes the 2023 NBA All-Star Game roster. But Jrue Holiday is a multi-time all-star, and I don't consider him a role player. It also depends on what team they're on. Deandre Ayton is a role player on the Suns, but in my eyes he wouldn't be a role player if he was on the Detroit Pistons or Orlando Magic.


Anyways, I narrowed my options down to Desmond Bane, Gary Trent Jr., Marcus Smart and Tyrese Haliburton. With Jordan and Giannis being great two-way players (elite on both offense and defense), I would really prefer another two-way player, preferably a guard. Desmond Bane gives me elite shotmaking and very good shot creation, but at this point in time his defense leaves a little to be desired. I'm sure as he continues to grow into a significant role with Memphis his defense will continue to improve, especially since he has that massive wingspan.


Gary Trent Jr. and Tyrese Haliburton are both solid two-way players. If I were between these two I would probably select Haliburton for his passing. I have no doubt that Haliburton will begin having 10+ APG seasons very soon. Trent is a very capable player, but his splits and efficiency are slightly worse than Haliburton.


But none of that matters because Marcus Smart is literally the best role player in the NBA at this point. I mean we're talking about a guy who just won Defensive Player of the Year while dishing out 6 assists per game for a Finals team. His shooting is a bit underwhelming (33% 3PT last season; 35% 3PT last postseason), but if he were playing with Giannis and Jordan he would get a lot of open threes.


To conclude, Michael Jordan, Giannis Antetokounmpo and Marcus Smart is the greatest 3v3 NBA team if you take into account these criteria. Comment below if you agree with me or if you think I'm an idiot. Any comments are welcome!

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page